Gelatine

Gelatin or gelatine  is a translucent, colourless, brittle (when dry), flavourless food derived from collagen obtained from various animal body parts. It is commonly used as a gelling agent in food, pharmaceutical drugs, vitamin capsules, photography, and cosmetic manufacturing. (Wikipedia).  It is also widely used in the wine world as a fining agent.

However, for plant-based practitioners, they can substitute gelatine with agar agar flakes or powder. Two cups of liquid can be set using 2 tsp of agar-agar powder or flakes.  Tapioaca flour / starch is also used to set fruit pies.

Read more: TheKitchn

“No One is Born a Great Cook, One learns by Doing.” – Julia Child

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *